Care Certificate

Care Certificate Course Overview

The Care Certificate was commissioned by the Department of Health and developed in partnership by Skills for Care, Health Education England and Skills for Health. It replaces the Common Induction Standards (CIS) and National Minimum Training Standards (NMTS). The course is relevant to all Healthcare Support Workers and Adult Social Care Workers and it is recommended that all individuals with a new Care role complete this certificate within their first 12 weeks of employment.

Designed with the non-regulated workforce in mind, the Care Certificate gives everyone the confidence that workers have the same introductory skills, knowledge and behaviours to provide compassionate, safe and high quality care and support.

The Care Certificate was developed, as part of the Cavendish Review work, jointly by Skills for Care, Health Education England and Skills for Health. It:

applies across health and social care

links to National Occupational Standards and units in qualifications

covers what is required to be caring, giving workers a good basis from which they can further develop their knowledge and skills.

The Care Certificate is the start of the career journey for these staff groups and is only one element of the training and education that will make them ready to practice within their specific sector.  Although the Care Certificate is designed for new staff, new to care and offers this group of staff their first step on their career ladder, it is also offers opportunities for existing staff to refresh or improve their knowledge.

The Standards

There are 15 standards in total, underpinned by the Chief Nursing Officer’s 6 C’s (care, compassion, competence, communication, courage, commitment).

Understand Your Role

Your Personal Development

Duty of Care

Equality and Diversity

Work in a Person Centred Way


Privacy and Dignity

Fluids and Nutrition

Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities

Safeguarding Adults

Safeguarding Children

Basic Life Support

Health and Safety

Handling Information

Infection Prevention and Control


Replaces both the mandatory Common Induction Standards (CIS) and National Minimum Training Standards (NMTS) in one course

Care certificate compliments the Health & Social Care diploma

CPD accredited record of achievement

Flexible online delivery

Excellent additional learning resource

Fully industry compliant

Course delivery and duration

The 15 mini-courses are e-learning based and each take approximately 30 minutes in length to complete. Learners can access the course via PC, Mac, tablet etc.

The care certificate is flexible so that learners can complete the standards that are specific to their role, in whichever order fulfils their requirements.

The care certificate will provide the necessary underpinning knowledge to achieve each standard. At the end of each mini-course there is a multiple choice assessment to test knowledge gained. All results are saved and accessible online.